Guest Post: “In Love… Totally.”

Another response to: “Who was your first love?”

By Kerri Loughran 

I want to say Nick Carter because my love for him, when I was 8 years old, was the strongest I’ve probably felt towards anyone in my life to date. But this ended, rather dramatically, the moment the Backstreet Boys split up in 2001. I kissed his poster goodbye, screamed ‘how could you!’ a few times and swore I’d never speak of him again.

So, my first ‘real-life’ love was a guy who was 7 years older than me. At the age of 14 my dad had dragged me kicking and screaming to the local village restaurant to have an interview for a waitressing job there. The moment I walked into the building I knew this was the man I wanted to spend the rest of my life with; tall, dark and deliciously handsome. There he stood, proudly pulling a pint of beer for a customer, a golden light shining from his entire body. Everything went slow motion for a while, as my knees shook and my sweat patches extended, all I can remember thinking is that I must thank my Dad when I get home. We worked together for 2 blissful years.

Obviously, the feelings were never reciprocated, I was just a child, but this didn’t change the fact that every Saturday, before my shift, I stuffed toilet paper down my bra, stole my mum’s mascara and blusher and prayed that today would be the day he confessed his mutual undying love for me. While this never happened, there was one day where he did give me a hug for folding the napkins so well; that was definitely an earth shattering moment.

The love ended rather suddenly 3 years later, after I had left the waitressing job, and I saw him outside on the street crouching down and tying his shoelace. What was I presented with? Only a huge bald patch on the back of his head! Needless to say, my infatuation ended there and then and in a much less dramatic fashion than the Nick Carter debacle. It’s funny to think how shallow and materialistic I was as a teenager, please tell me I’m not alone in this …?!

 

Kerri

Kerri is a graduate currently living and working in Vietnam. She teaches at a language centre and the tales of her travels can be found on her blog: http://cokerri.wordpress.com

One response to “Guest Post: “In Love… Totally.”

  1. Pingback: My First Love | Cô Kerri·

Leave a Reply

